Angeline Boulley "Firekeeper's Daughter" Signed First Edition, Later Printing, Slip-cased Limited Edition of 40 w/COA [Sealed]

$175
34 left
(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Item #:
90-102-2
Condition:
New
Free Gift wrapping:
Options available
Angeline Boulley "Firekeeper's Daughter" Signed First Edition, Later Printing, Slip-cased Limited Edition of 40 w/COA [Sealed]
Angeline Boulley "Firekeeper's Daughter" Signed First Edition, Later Printing, Slip-cased Limited Edition of 40 w/COA [Sealed]
Angeline Boulley "Firekeeper's Daughter" Signed First Edition, Later Printing, Slip-cased Limited Edition of 40 w/COA [Sealed]
Angeline Boulley "Firekeeper's Daughter" Signed First Edition, Later Printing, Slip-cased Limited Edition of 40 w/COA [Sealed]
Angeline Boulley "Firekeeper's Daughter" Signed First Edition, Later Printing, Slip-cased Limited Edition of 40 w/COA [Sealed]

Expected ship date is Oct 21st 2021

"A rare and mesmerizing work that blends the power of a vibrant tradition with the aches and energy of today's America" - Francisco X. Stork, author of Marcelo in the Real World and Illegal.


Personally signed by Angeline Boulley directly onto the title page.

LIMITED TO ONLY 40 SLIP-CASED SIGNED FIRST EDITION - LATER PRINTING COPIES WITH HAND-NUMBERED COA

 

Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)  March, 16th 2021. Angeline Boulley "Firekeeper's Daughter". Personally signed by Angeline Boulley directly onto the title page of the book. Signed First Edition, Later Printing. This is a special slipcased edition of only 40 produced with a hand-numbered COA.  The slipcase is produced from a luxurious Japapese "asahi" full cloth to match the feel and look of the book. As new, sealed without any visible flaws. 

Features Exclusive to this Limited Slip-cased Edition

  • Personally signed by Angeline Boulley directly onto the title page!
  • NO SIGNED BOOKPLATES THAT WERE AFFIXED TO THE BOOK
  • Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) (March 16, 2021)
  • Signed First Edition, Later Printing
  • Slip-cased Collector's Edition, Limited to only 40 copies.
  • Hand-numbered COA (Certificate of Authenticity)
  • Very Fine/Very Fine without any discernible flaws.
  • Hardcover book with dust-jacket
  • The dust-jacket is protected in a new Brodart archival acid-free sleeve
  • The slipcase is produced from high quality materials (sophisticated rich appearance and feel)
  • Available on a “first come, first served” basis.
  • Free luxury gift wrapping available at check-out.
  • 30 day return policy with free 2-way shipping (within the US) .
  • The same quality and attention to detail you have come to expect from veryfinebooks.com
  • Professional packing & shipping.
  • Shrink-wrapping
  • Ship Date: Monday, October 18th, 2021

 

 

 

PERSONALLY SIGNED DIRECTLY INTO THE BOOK (NO BOOKPLATES)

This edition has been personally signed by Angeline Boulley directly onto the title page and NOT on a bookplate which was then affixed into the book. 

 

 

 

FIRST EDITION , LATER PRINTING


You will receive a slip-cased FIRST EDITION, LATER PRINTING with the partial number line ( 7 9 10 8 6 4 2 ) as required on the copyright page by the publisher. "First Edition, 2021" is also printed on the copyright page. Because of its first edition status, this special slipcased edition will become a valuable addition to your library. It can also make a wonderful unique gift for someone special.

 

About the book

An Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller

Soon to be adapted at Netflix for TV with President Barack Obama and Michelle Obama’s production company, Higher Ground.

“One of this year’s most buzzed about young adult novels.” —Good Morning America
A 2021 Kids’ Indie Next List Selection

  • An Amazon Best Book of the Month for March Selection
  • An Entertainment Weekly Most Anticipated Books of 2021 Selection
  • A PopSugar Best March 2021 YA Book Selection


With four starred reviews, Angeline Boulley’s debut novel, Firekeeper’s Daughter, is a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community, perfect for readers of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange.

Eighteen-year-old Daunis Fontaine has never quite fit in, both in her hometown and on the nearby Ojibwe reservation. She dreams of a fresh start at college, but when family tragedy strikes, Daunis puts her future on hold to look after her fragile mother. The only bright spot is meeting Jamie, the charming new recruit on her brother Levi’s hockey team.
Yet even as Daunis falls for Jamie, she senses the dashing hockey star is hiding something. Everything comes to light when Daunis witnesses a shocking murder, thrusting her into an FBI investigation of a lethal new drug.
Reluctantly, Daunis agrees to go undercover, drawing on her knowledge of chemistry and Ojibwe traditional medicine to track down the source. But the search for truth is more complicated than Daunis imagined, exposing secrets and old scars. At the same time, she grows concerned with an investigation that seems more focused on punishing the offenders than protecting the victims.

Now, as the deceptions—and deaths—keep growing, Daunis must learn what it means to be a strong Anishinaabe kwe (Ojibwe woman) and how far she’ll go for her community, even if it tears apart the only world she’s ever known.

 

 

As a biracial, unenrolled tribal member and the product of a scandal, eighteen-year-old Daunis Fontaine has never quite fit in, both in her hometown and on the nearby Ojibwe reservation. Daunis dreams of studying medicine, but when her family is struck by tragedy, she puts her future on hold to care for her fragile mother.

The only bright spot is meeting Jamie, the charming new recruit on her brother Levi’s hockey team. Yet even as Daunis falls for Jamie, certain details don’t add up and she senses the dashing hockey star is hiding something. Everything comes to light when Daunis witnesses a shocking murder, thrusting her into the heart of a criminal investigation.

Reluctantly, Daunis agrees to go undercover, but secretly pursues her own investigation, tracking down the criminals with her knowledge of chemistry and traditional medicine. But the deceptions - and deaths - keep piling up and soon the threat strikes too close to home.

Now, Daunis must learn what it means to be a strong Anishinaabe kwe (Ojibwe woman) and how far she'll go to protect her community, even if it tears apart the only world she’s ever known.

Debut author Angeline Boulley crafts a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community, for readers of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange.

 

Higher Ground

 

"Firekeeper's Daughter is soon to be adapted at Netflix for TV with President Barack Obama and Michelle Obama’s production company, Higher Ground.

In May 2018, the Obamas launched Higher Ground Productions by signing a multi-year deal with Netflix to produce scripted and unscripted film and television projects, with the goal of the company to lift up diverse voices in the entertainment industry. Michelle Obama stated "I have always believed in the power of storytelling to inspire us, to make us think differently about the world around us, and to help us open our minds and hearts to others."[1] In February 2019, Priya Swaminathan, Tonia Davis, and Qadriyyah “Q” Shamsid-Deen joined the company, with Swaminathan and Davis serving as co-heads, and Shamsid-Deen serving as a creative executive.


On June 6, 2019, Spotify announced a partnership with Higher Ground to produce Spotify-exclusive podcasts. The first podcast under the partnership, The Michelle Obama Podcast, premiered on July 29, 2020.


The company's first film was American Factory, released in 2019. Netflix released Becoming a documentary following Michelle Obama on her book tour promoting her memoir of the same name.


Higher Ground has multiple projects in development, including a feature film adaption of Frederick Douglass's biography, a drama series set in the fashion scene of post-WWII New York City, a scripted anthology series of the New York Times obituary column highlighting deaths of remarkable people not reported, a documentary series adaption of The Fifth Risk: Undoing Democracy by Michael Lewis entitled The G Word, and a half-hour preschool series Listen to Your Vegetables & Eat Your Parents.

 

 

 

 

About the author

Angeline Boulley, an enrolled member of the Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians, is a storyteller who writes about her Ojibwe community in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. She was selected as an emerging Young Adult writer in the 2019 We Need Diverse Books Mentorship Program and chosen to attend the 2019 Tin House YA Writers Workshop. As a former Director of the Office of Indian Education at the U.S. Department of Education, she focused on improving the education of Native American students at the tribal, state, regional, and national levels. She lives and works in the Washington, D.C., area, but her home will always be on Sugar Island. Firekeeper's Daughter is her debut novel.

 

 

Editorial Reviews

"This is one bold, uncompromising and elegantly crafted debut." ―Courtney Summers, New York Times-bestselling author of Sadie

"Intricate and moving. Boulley takes the reader on an incredible journey with the assurance of a veteran novelist." ―Tochi Onyebuchi, award-winning author of Beasts Made of Night and Riot Baby

“A rare and mesmerizing work that blends the power of a vibrant tradition with the aches and energy of today’s America. This book will leave you breathless!” ―Francisco X. Stork, acclaimed author of Marcelo in the Real World and Illegal

"A crime suspense fiction [with] a lot of layers, Indigenous culture, and it's really beautifully written." ―Georgia Hardstark, co-host of My Favorite Murder podcast
"[An] absolute powerhouse of a debut." ―NPR

“Another YA novel that’s absolutely page-turning required reading for adults...Our heroine is so smart, so thoughtful, and so good.” ―Glamour

"Raw and moving. . . Boulley has crafted a nuanced and refreshing protagonist." ―Cosmopolitan

"Sure to be on one of the year's best YA novels" ―POPSUGAR

 

 

 

 

 

 

VERY FINE GUARANTEED. Sealed without any visible flaws. A wonderful bright clean copy free of any markings, writings, or stamps. Sharp corners that are not bumped. Tight and square spine. Unread book. No attached bookplate or indication of any removed.
Publisher:
Henry Holt and Company
Edition:
Signed First Edition, Later Printing
Binding:
Hardcover with dust-jacket
Author:
Angeline Boulley
Lifetime Guarantee of Signature Authenticity:
Personally signed by Angeline Boulley directly onto the title page. The autograph is not a facsimile, stamp or auto-pen.
Special Attributes:
Limited Slip-cased Edition of 40 w/COA
ProductStock:
yes