Easton Press "The Wizard of Oz" L. Frank Baum, 6 Vol. Matching Complete Collection (Very Fine) First Edition 1989

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Item #:
Easton Press "The Wizard of Oz" L. Frank Baum, 6 Vol. Matching Complete Collection (Very Fine) First Edition 1989
A Beautiful Heirloom Set of The Wizard of Oz, One of the True Classics of American Literature

 A great opportunity to own the original Easton Press first edition volumes from 1989.

First Edition six volume matching leather bound set published by Easton Press 1989. This set is now Out of Print and scarce. Embossed cover art. Not to be confused with the later 4 volume printings.

Limited Edition - Collector's Edition consisting of 6 matching volumes. A complete set. A great unique gift for yourself or for a loved one. Beautifully illustrated and bound in full genuine leather. This set consists of all the details of the original books, including the now-famous illustrations by Ernest Shepard.

This is the original Easton Press publications, copyright 1989. Illustrated by John R. Neill, W.W. Denslow. A leather bound set consisting of uniform multi-color leather bindings, embossed picture art on the front hardcover, featuring spectacular reproductions of the artwork and cover designs from the extremely rare First Edition.

The series includes:

1. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz,
2. The Marvelous Land of Oz
3. Dorothy and the Wizard of Oz
4. The Emerald City of Oz
5. Ozma of Oz
6. The Road to Oz

Book dimensions: 5" x 7.5"

Very Fine for all six volumes. The condition is of the highest quality. Each volume is a wonderful bright clean copy. Free of markings, writings, or stamps. No attached bookplates or indication of any removed. Unread. Not even a single scratch on the gilded page edges. Includes extra unattached Ex-Libris bookplates for your own personalization.

Each volume features the classic Easton Press qualities:

 * Premium Leather
 * Silk Moire Endleaves
 * Distinctive Cover Design
 * Hubbed Spine, Accented in Real 22KT Gold
 * Satin Ribbon Page Marker
 * Gilded Page Edges
 * Long-lasting, High Quality Acid-neutral Paper
 * Smyth-sewn Pages for Strength and Durability
 * Beautiful Illustrations

About The Wizard of Oz

Originally published in 1900, The Wizard of Oz was the first truly American fairy tale, as Baum crafted a wonderful out of such familiar items as a cornfield scarecrow, a mechanical woodman, and a humbug wizard who used old-fashioned hokum to express that universal theme, "There's no place like home."

Follow the adventures of young Dorothy Gale and her dog, Toto, as their Kansas house is swept away by a cyclone and they find themselves in a strange land called Oz. Here she meets the Munchkins and joins the Scarecrow, Tin Woodman, and the Cowardly Lion on an unforgettable journey to the Emerald City, where lives the all-powered Wizard of Oz.

About L. Frank Baum

Lyman Frank Baum (May 15, 1856 – May 6, 1919) was an American author that wrote children's books. He was best known for writing The Wonderful Wizard of Oz. He wrote thirteen novel sequels, nine other fantasy novels, and a host of other works. He wrote 55 novels in total plus four "lost" novels, 82 short stories, over 200 poems, an unknown number of scripts. He also had many miscellaneous writings and made numerous attempts to bring his works to the stage and screen.

His works predicted such century-later commonplaces as television, laptop computers (The Master Key), wireless telephones (Tik-Tok of Oz), and the ubiquity of advertising on clothing (Aunt Jane's Nieces at Work).

List of Oz books by L. Frank Baum

* The Wonderful Wizard of Oz (1900)
* The Marvelous Land of Oz (1904)
* Queer Visitors from the Marvelous Land of Oz (1905, comic strip depicting 27 stories)
* Ozma of Oz (1907)
* Dorothy and the Wizard in Oz (1908)
* The Road to Oz (1909)
* The Emerald City of Oz (1910)
* The Patchwork Girl of Oz (1913)
* Little Wizard Stories of Oz (1913, collection of 6 short stories)
* Tik-Tok of Oz (1914)
* The Scarecrow of Oz (1915)
* Rinkitink in Oz (1916)
* The Lost Princess of Oz (1917)
* The Tin Woodman of Oz (1918)
* The Magic of Oz (1919, posthumously published)
* Glinda of Oz (1920, posthumously published)

Easton Press 1989
Full Genuine Leather
Limited First Edition, 6 Vol. Set
Very Fine